WHS SoCal

Past Events

Event Recaps

December 2018

Annual Holiday Event & Charity Luncheon

Event Speaker

Assistant Chief Beatrice Girmala
Office of Special Operations
Los Angeles Police Department

Topics of the Day

  • Key homeland security initiatives LAPD is leading

  • The path to success

Philanthropy

The Union Station Homeless Services – an organization helping individuals and families rebuild their lives and end homelessness.
https://unionstationhs.org


October 2018

Resilient Leaders

Event Speakers

Meredith K. Davis 
Special Agent
US Department of Justice ATF
Meredith.K.Davis@usdoj.gov

Jill Barnes, Ed.D
Executive Emergency Strategist
Office of Emergency Services, Division of District Operations
Los Angeles Unified School District
jill.barnes@lausd.net

Sandra Stark Shields, LMFT, LPCC, ATR-BC
Sr. Disaster Services Analyst
Emergency Outreach Bureau
Los Angeles County Department of Mental Health
SaShields@dmh.lacounty.gov

Maggie Gonzalez, MPA
Senior Intake Coordinator
San Bernardino Inland Regional Center

Helen Chavez, MSW
Assistant Director
Preparedness Division 
Los Angeles County Chief Executive Office/Office of Emergency Management
hchavez@ceooem.lacounty.gov

Topics of the Day

  • Responder account of the San Bernardino mass shooting incident

  • First-hand account from survivor of the San Bernardino mass shooting incident

  • Mass shooting readiness for schools

  • Mental health considerations for mass shootings

Philanthropy

The National Compassion Fund where 100% of donations go to survivors of mass shootings.
https://nationalcompassionfund.org


July 2018

Inaugural Awards Ceremony Luncheon

Awardee Honorees

Pinnacle Award | Anna Burton
Emergency Management Coordinator II
City of Los Angeles, Los Angeles World Airports 

Ripple Effect Award | Andrea Davies
Director of Global Crisis Management and Crisis Continuity
The World Disney Company 

Trailblazer Award | Kate Powers
Support Specialist
Constant Associates 

Event Speakers

Commissioner Rebecca Ninburg
Board of Fire Commissioners
City of Los Angeles
rebecca.ninburg@lacity.org

Chief Nikki Brodowy
Administrative Operations
Executive Officer
Los Angeles Fire Department
elise.brodowy@lacity.org

Chief Kristin Crowley
Deputy Chief
Los Angeles Fire Department
kristin.crowley@lacity.org

Topics of the Day

  • Female representation in the Fire Service

  • The importance of self-confidence to maintaining integrity

Philanthropy

Los Angeles Women in the Fire Service - a Professional Association of Fire Service Women, providing a proactive network that supports, mentors, and educates current and future fire service women and men of the Los Angeles area.
http://www.lawfs.org/index.html


June 2018

Situation Room Tour at Ronald Reagan Library

Event details

  • Co-hosted event with the Federal Executive Board at Reagan Library

  • In an actual White House Situation Room, participants engaged in an exercise where they played the roles of the press and White House staff using the latest in gaming technology


May 2018

Women Who Inspire Us

Event Speakers

Yoli McGlinchy
Emergency Services Manager
City of Santa Barbara
YMcGlinchey@SantaBarbaraCA.gov

Patricia Frohock Hanes, PhD
Professor
School of Nursing, Azusa Pacific University
phanes@apu.edu   

Chief Lisa G. Rosales
Police Chief
City of Glendora Police Department
LRosales@Glendorapd.org 

Bernice Conley
Assistant Port Director
US Customs and Border Protection
Los Angeles/Long Beach Seaport

Topics of the Day

  • Inspirational panelists shared stories and insights regarding their career

  • First-hand accounts about learnings on their professional journey

  • Candid discussions about what it is like to be a woman in the field, and how they leveraged their greatest strengths 

Philanthropy

Dress for Success - Empowers women to achieve economic independence by providing a network of support, professional attire and the development tools to help women thrive in work and in life.
https://dressforsuccess.org-


March 2018

Seismological Lab VIP Tour

Event details

  • Co-hosted event with the California Institute of Technology (Caltech) 

  • Our tour included the Exhibit Center and the Media Room, wherewe learned about cutting-edge technologies tracking earthquakes, such as incoming data from seismic networks, oceanic research cruises, remote sensing (think GPS, interferometric radar, Landsat etc.), and geologic field mapping.


February 2018

The Future of Homeland Security

Event Speakers

Shirley Feldmann-Jensen, DPPD, MPH
Program Coordinator & Lecturer
CSULB Emergency Services Program
shirley.jensen@csulb.edu 

Gabriele Almon, MPP
Homeland + Humanitarian Futurist
U.S. Federal Emergency Management Agency 
National Advisory Council
almon.gabriele@gmail.com

Dawn Comer, MBA
FUSE Corps Fellow, Smart Cities 
City of Los Angeles Information Technology Agency
dawn.comer@lacity.org 

Courtney La Bau
Emerge California
Truman National Security Project
California Democratic Party Delegate
courtney@labaugroup.com

Topics of the Day

  • Future core competencies for homeland security

  • Public/private partnerships that are shaping strategy

  • Technologies, innovations & think-out-of-the box solutions for old problems

  • Smart cities & their nexus to homeland security

Philanthropy

University of Southern California's Homeland Security Student Organization - an organization run by students for the purpose of connecting past, present, and future Trojans who are interested in the field of homeland security.
https://create.usc.edu/about-create/advisory-committees/homeland-security-student-organization-hsso


December 2017

Annual Holiday Luncheon & Children in Disasters

Event Speakers

Dawn Wilcox
Vice President, Corporate Partnerships
Children’s Hospital Los Angeles

Hilary Palotay
Manager, Youth Preparedness
American Red Cross
hilary.palotay@redcross.org

Sheryl Riccardi, RN
Clinical Nurse Educator
Providence Little Company of Mary Medical Center
Sheryl.Riccardi@providence.org

Topics of the Day

  • Specialty services brought to bear by Children’s Hospital Los Angeles

  • Disaster preparedness practices for the youth population

  • Red Cross’ pillowcase campaign

  • Best practices and lessons learned in pediatric surge readiness for medical facilities  

Philanthropy

Children’s Hospital Los Angeles - a nonprofit institution that provides pediatric health care and helps our patients in a setting designed just for their needs.
https://www.chla.org


November 2017

Women Preparing & Responding to Crises

Event Details

  • Partnership event with LEVO League Los Angeles

  • Panel featuring WHS SoCal members discussing their daily jobs and experiences handling emergencies

Panelists

Lorraine Schneider
Emergency Management Training Specialist
UCLA OEM
Board Member
WHS Southern California
lschneider@ehs.ucla.edu

Jenny Novak, MEP, CEM
Emergency Services Coordinator
Southern Region Office
California Governor’s Office of Emergency Services
jenny.novak@caloes.ca.gov

Gabriele Almon, MPP
Homeland + Humanitarian Futurist
U.S. Federal Emergency Management Agency 
National Advisory Council
almon.gabriele@gmail.com

Kate Hutton
Emergency Management Coordinator
Emergency Management Department
City of Los Angeles
kate.hutton@lacity.org

Moderator

Michelle Constant, MBA
CEO + Founder
Constant Associates
Founder + Board Member
WHS Southern California
michelle@constantassociates.com


June 2017

Happy Hour & Mixer

Event Speaker

Cambria Findley-Grubb
Community Engagement Fellow, Los Angeles
UNICEF USA

Topics of the Day

  • Human trafficking in emergencies

  • Displaced children in conflict zones


February 2017

Women in Homeland Security Networking Luncheon

Event Speaker

Binnie Phan
Special Agent
US Federal Bureau of Investigation
Binnie.Phan@ic.fbi.gov

Topic of the Day

  • Shared insights from the San Bernardino Inland Regional Center and Orlando Pulse nightclub incidents


October 2016

Women in Homeland Security Networking Luncheon

Event Speakers

Patty Todaro-Bolin
Senior Vice President, Business Development and Capture
XLA
Board of Directors
Women in Homeland Security – Washington, DC

Gabriela Noriega, Ph.D. 
Vice President of Operations, Technology & Research 
Homeland Security Advisory Council
gnoriega@usc.edu

Pamela Mottice-Muller
Director of Emergency Management
Beverly Hills
pmottice@beverlyhills.org

Stacy Gerlich 
Emergency Medical Services Training Coordinator
City of Los Angeles Fire Department
stacy.gerlich@lacity.org

Mona Bontty 
Southern Regional Administrator
California Governor’s Office of Emergency Services
Mona.Bontty@CalOES.ca.gov

Topic of the Day

  • Shared stories as women in the field of homeland security

  • Tips and insights for career growth in our industry